Entering Django, again

I’ve been on the move working to find different solutions that will help me develop solutions for my clients in the shortest amount of time with the most flexibility. This is my story.

Some months ago I took Django for a test drive and presented my thoughts on it. Overall it was everything I could want in a web framewor, of course there were some set-backs considering Python was a whole new world to me.

Before and even after Django I dabbled in other solutions as well. I traversed the deluted world of Symphony, CakePHP and Code Ignitor. To be honest though, Code Ignitor by Ellis Labs is hands down the best php framework around. Symfony and CakePHP are great if you have the flexibility to run multiple stacks (i.e, Apache, PHP, application servers, etc…). The most recent flavor is ExpressioEngine also by Ellis Labs. Great CMS for publishers and developers. So much flexibility and ease in getting your data out and into a template or page.

Ruby on Rails was a huge contender considering it has been the most adopted framework out there so far. Everything else seems to pale when it comes to popularity, both server-side and in the developer community. However RoR wanted a full-stack. In my experience most one-man-shops probably don’t need a full-stack unless they are truly building a web application product as opposed to your brochure-ware based projects.

Fuel for the Web Development Process.

After trying out all these different solutions, one fact remained. Django gave me all the flexibility, extensibility and even portability of all the various solutions tried. Template engines, implicitly generated interface for content management, flexibility to build unique solutions around an already stellar content management framework. So I guess this further prolongs the release of my website. Eh, such is life.

So I’m going to settle on Django. End of story.

About this entry